Free museum entry for New Zealanders and people living in New Zealand

The Dominion Museum – 1907 to 1997

In 1907, the Colonial Museum was renamed the Dominion Museum and took on a broader national focus. In 1936, a new building opened in Buckle Street to house the Dominion Museum and new National Art Gallery. It incorporated the New Zealand Academy of Fine Arts, which sold its land and donated the proceeds to the new organisation.

In 1972, the Dominion Museum became the National Museum.

You might also like

  • A black and white photo of a wooden building with three chimneys viewable, and a wide street in front of it.

    The Colonial Museum – 1865 to 1907

    The Colonial Museum’s first director, Sir James Hector, opened the museum in 1865. It was renamed the Dominion Museum in 1907, and moved to Buckle Street in 1936. It then moved to its current location and became Te Papa Tongarewa in 1998. Discover stories from its past and present as we look closely at the processes and histories held within the buildings.

  • Lisa Reihana in front of her art work

    About

    Learn about From the Past, for Tomorrow and how to use its rich and integrated approaches to teaching and learning.